My Sister Got Drunk/LBJ Library Trip

For those of you who don’t know me as well, I have two younger sisters, one at UT Austin (freshman) and the other at Texas Tech (junior/senior-ish). The last 24 hours were spent mostly with the younger. My economics professor offers up to 5 points on your final average if you attend a field trip to one of the [currently] two presidential libraries in Texas on a weekend late in each semester. Last semester was the George H.W. Bush library in College Station that I didn’t go to (I had a 97 in the class). This semester it was the Lyndon B. Johnson library in Austin.

So after making a bit of a pit stop at Cy Ranch, I made it out to Austin, getting in just after 11pm.  I was pretty tired having just umpired two games and driven over 3 hours.  I was ready to hit the shower then go to bed.  Enter my sister.

My sister found me at the bottom of the steps to the famous clock tower… or rather I found her stumbling back to find me with her friends.   When I saw her stumble over the curb, I knew the night was one of those special occasions.

So after walking the short walk over to the Jester dormitory, and hearing several times “wow, my face is numb” and “oh my god I’m drunk,” we made it to her dorm.  I was proud to see that handle of Burnett’s Cherry Vodka sitting out on the table, about a quarter of the way emptied.  I bought it from Spec’s during spring break, but she was saving it for this night when I’d return.

Oh the nights we used to have together...

Oh the nights we used to have together...

Being this drunk, my sister definitely wasn’t ready to give up on the night just yet.  It was her friend’s birthday, and she wanted to return to the party.  After a quick shower, her friends convinced me I should go to the party too.  I tried so hard not to go (read: I gave right in on one condition — I’ve got to get some drinks in me ASAP).  So after downing two frozen mugs of 50/50 Burnetts and Sprite, I was good to go.  Nothing like 10 shots of vodka to get the old party juices flowing.

So we leave the room, where I notice my sister didn’t bring her keys.  I thought about questioing her about this, but I let it slide.  We’ll call this mistake number one on the way out the building.  We’ll come back to this mistake, but there was too much other funny stuff that happened in the mean time.

Mistake number two in leaving the building (yes, we couldn’t get out of the building without a drunken incident) was in the staircase to exit.  My sister made it to the last two steps on a flight of stairs before she kicked her shoe off mid step, causing her to fall straight back.  She took a step right in the back… it’s a good bruise.  Ouch.  I laughed.  I’m still laughing at the thought of it.

The walk to the place at West Campus wasn’t too bad.  We got to the party where I was introduced to 15-20 people.  I wow’d the crowd with my excellent name remembering abilities.  The party was meh.  They had Bud Light and what they called “girl drinks.”  I’m pretty sure it was just vodka cranberry.  Nothing much.

One really weird thing did happen at the party.  The other white (non-Jewish) guy there came up to me and told me it’s nice to see another white guy at the party.  He’s usually jokingly referred to as “Cracker Casey” at this place’s parties.  This was both weird, creepy, and oddly increasing my desire for more Bud Light – a feat within itself.

We were there about an hour before my sister wanted to leave.  She was getting sick from too much alcohol.  She dragged me out of the place rather quick, totally ignoring my questions about do you have a key?  We made it to the bottom floor on the elevator before the sister made her first reference to “I need to puke.”  We made it just around the corner into the alley before she did… twice.

After that, things calmed down for the rest of the walk home.  We made it back to Jester after about 10 minutes walking.  Since its a single sex housing dorm, my sister couldn’t bring me through the door as a guest.  Instead, I was sent to the side door by the stairs while she scanned herself in.  It took a while, but she eventually made it over to the staircase door.  Later, I found out she mistakenly tried to swipe in incorrectly twice.  The first time she swiped air through the scanner… as in her hand was holding an invisible card.  When that didn’t work, she tried her bank card.  The door attendant wasn’t amused (supposedly).

We get up to the room, and the sister starts turning an invisible key to unlock the door.  Mark me nonplussed.  She tried it at least 5 times.  I was trying so hard not to laugh.  Then she tried knocking… not sure who she was trying to reach there as her roommate was still at the party we had just left.

Speaking of that roommate, my sister called her.  Without telling me anything, my sister just walks down the hall, and goes through the 3rd door from hers.  I assumed maybe it was an RA desk or someplace to get a spare key.  I wait 2-4 minutes, then go look out of curiosity.  My sister is passed out on the couch in a lounge area.  She’s not totally out yet, but it was getting close.

I answer her phone that she’s decided to ignore to find that the roommate is taking another one of their friends home because he’s puking all over the apartment we had partied at previously.  She does let me know that the RA desk at the front could get a spare key to loan out, so I let her know we’ll do that then hang up.

I tell my sister the plan, and she looks with a drunken blank face.  Something I’d expect from a friend of mine, we’ll call him protonone.  She gets up, makes it for the door, goes towards her room, but before she gets there, shes walks into the room before hers.  The first thing I think is where the hell is she going.  The second thing I think is who the hell leaves their room unlocked.  I tell my sister that isn’t her suite, but she just “shushes” me  and continues.

She thought she was going into the suite adjacent to hers to cut through the bathroom and unlock her door.  She was too drunk to remember locking the bathroom door (their suites lock you in the bathroom instead of out of it).  So she didn’t find it the least bit surprising that she came around to open the other room.  When she gets there, she turns on the light and opens the door.  The three girls in that room are freaking out… “This isn’t your room!”  “What are you doing in here!?! Get out of this room!”

I grab the sister and run back to the lounge to avoid being seen in the hallway.  We wait a minute before I set her straight on the previous plan.  She is just barely grasping what she had just done, much less what the plan was.  Finally she figures out what she has to do and heads to the front desk.

When she returns she has a key, but she also has a $10 and $20 bill.  Where did this come from?  Come to find out, she set her wallet down in the room she opened up.  When she picked it up, those people had left money there too.  My sister picked up the wallet and the cash without knowing it.

So we finally made it into the room.  No sooner than she makes it through the door she’s swan dived into the bed face down.  I lock the doors, turn off the light and scrounge for bedding.  I’ve got one sheet and a towel to use for a pillow while I sleep on the tile floor.  She’s got the blanket at least.  Then it was sweet dreams from there.

The next morning was a little rough for her.  She threw up again and couldn’t even stomach breakfast.  The water she drank at the party didn’t help the hangover apparently.  Cest la vie.

The two of us made it to the LBJ Library by the noon sign in time.  The library was okay, but much of it was kind of boring.  There was a large section on the launch of NASA and Lady Bird Johnson.  I felt there was a large lack in “the Great Society” work started by Johnson.  Things like Medicare and Medicaid both gained traction under his term, as well as many great educational achievements.

LBJ is probably one of the presidents who doesn’t get enough credit.  Sure JFK was the big name, and even Nixon had his stories, but in between Johnson really pushed a great liberal agenda that helped a lot. Unfortunately, he’s remembered more for the Vietnam incidents than his 1000 pieces of legislation.

After two hours at the library, we’d seen everything on exhibit and headed to lunch.  We ate at a rather unique diner called Kirbey Lane.  While they specialize in pancakes (served 24 hours), their entrees are a mix of Mediterannean and Tex-Mex.  Mexican Rice and black beans are available as a substitute for fries or hummus.  It’s kind of weird (what in Austin isn’t?).

After that it was the hop skip jump and 3 hour drive back home with a quick stop at Buc-cee’s (It’s a Beaver!).  And to think the weekend is only half over.

Leave a Reply

